Monday, September 27, 2010

2010 Munster Secondary Schools Competition

The 2010 Munster Secondary Schools Competition takes place on Wednesday, October 13th, in Fermoy. .

Two local schools will be represented: St.Augustine's College and Dungarvan C.B.S.

Initially four teams were selected to represent Waterford in this competition, but the powers that be, namely the PPUI, have now cut this down to two. As a result, there were some very disappointed players and mentors last week when this news was announced. Nevertheless, I’m sure the boys who have been selected will do their schools and their county proud.

Dungarvan CBS will now be represented by A. Ryan, R. Crotty and C. Morrissey.

St. Augustine’s will be represented by M. Maher, S. Reynolds and R. O’Neill.

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Bridget Walsh just loses out in play-off at Seniors Strokeplay Championships

Ladies All-Ireland Seniors Strokeplay Championship 2010

Bridget Walsh being presented with 2nd place trophy
by Myles McMorrow, President PPUI

These championships were held at Lakeside, Co Tipperary, on Saturday last, September 18th.

The Junior section resulted in a tie between Bridget Walsh (Cunnigar) and Nora

Tierney (Prosperous), both of whom carded the same score. The 9 hole play-off

between Nora and Bridget proved to be a close affair with no more than a couple

of shots separating the players over the first seven holes as Nora led all through.

Over holes 8 and 9 Bridget hauled back the lead and they were all square after the

first 9. On the first sudden death hole Nora grabbed the initiative to emerge

victorious. This was a magnificent display of pitch and putt by

Bridget, who must consider herself so unlucky

not to have come away with a major National title.

Congratulations from everyone at the club!!

1st Nora Tierney (Prosperous) 
 2nd Bridget Walsh (Cunnigar)


(Pictures by Pat Tinsley) 

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Chairpersons Day, 12th September

Chairpersons Day 12th September

Pictured above is Stella Kinsella (Chairperson) being presented with a bouquet by Cáit Mulcahy (President) on the occasion of her very successful Chairpersons Day.

It was fantastic to see all the members who turned up to play last Sunday in this tournament which was hosted by Stella Kinsella, chairperson. The weather was kind, once again, and all the competitors really enjoyed the game. The kitchen crew surpassed themselves once again by providing an excellent buffet for everyone.

Gents Results:

1st: Nett: Paul Healy. Gross: Tomás Maher.

2nd: Nett: Aiden O’Rourke. Gross: Michael Delaney.

3rd: Nett: Billy Walsh. Gross: Michael Daly.

Ladies Results:

1st: Nett: Bridget Broderick. Gross: Mary Donnelly.

2nd: Nett: Jacinta O’Mahoney. Gross: Breda O’Donnell.

3rd: Nett: Margaret Shanahan. Gross: Cáit Mulcahy.


Margaret Shanahan, Rena Landers, Paul Healy.

2nd Gross

2nd Nett

3rd Nett

3rd Gross

3rd Gross

2nd Nett

2nd gross

1st Gross



Most Pavlova at one sitting

Saturday, September 11, 2010

Trip to Belfast in November

Anyone interested in going on the Belfast trip, November 26th to 28th ,
should contact Breda as soon as possible, as spaces are limited. Monies must be paid in full by Friday 17th September. Full details of the trip are posted in the clubhouse.

Sunday, September 5, 2010

Juvenile Competitions

Congratulations to all the juvenile players who took part in last Sunday’s tournament (sponsored by Dan McCarthy). Our Juvenile section is a vital part of our club, and it’s great to have such generous supporters as Dan McCarthy as we endeavor to encourage more and more young people to participate in our sport, and to copper-fasten the future of pitch and putt in Dungarvan.


0-9: 1: Aaron Donnelly. 2: Conor Hayes. 3: Darragh Lyons. 4: Donncha Kirwan. 5: Jack Lacey. 6: Steven Donovan.

10-14: 1: Conor Donovan. 2: Colm O'Shea. 3: Aiden Kirwan. 4: Rian Crotty 5: Pius O'Shea. 6: Kealan Daly. 7: Glen Walters.

The next tournament will take place on Sunday, October 19th.

The 2010 Munster Secondary Schools Competition takes place
 on Wednesday, October 13th, in Fermoy.

 Anyone interested in playing in teams representing their school(s) should come along to the club on Wednesday Sept.8th at 6.30 sharp, where trials will take place.
A fee of €3 will by payable by non-members, for insurance purposes.

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Credit Union Shield, Thursday Sept. 2nd,

There was a fantastic turnout for the annual Credit Union Shield tournament which was held on Thursday evening Sept.2nd.
 A total of 39 competitors came along to enjoy the lovely Summer evening competition and the calm conditions ensured some fantastic scores on the course.

At the end of competition the winners, (after a countback), were Cora Kearney, Eileen Mangan and Aiden Murray. Also included in the picture are Ray( and Anthony) Moore, representing Dungarvan Credit Union, who kindly sponsor this event every year.

Gross Winners, (also after a countback), were Anne O'Connor, Anita Lonergan and Patsy Hackett.